Leah Casselman Morewood, Ontario

En 1995, elle devient la première femme présidente du Syndicat des employés de la fonction publique de l’Ontario (SEFPO), poste qu’elle occupe jusqu’en 2007. En 1996, elle dirige le syndicat de 60 000 membres lors de la première grève sur des questions de sous-traitance.

More

Brigette Lacquette (1992- ) Dauphin (Manitoba)

Elle est la première femme des Premières Nations à jouer dans l’équipe olympique canadienne de hockey. En 2013, dans les rangs de l’équipe nationale féminine, elle aide le Canada à remporter la médailler d’or à la Coupe des quatre nations, puis elle fait ses débuts olympiques aux Jeux de PyeongChang en 2018.

More

Bertha Wilson (1923-2007) Kirkcaldy, Royaume-Uni

Première femme au poste de juge à la Cour suprême du Canada, elle exerce une forte influence sur l’application de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés. On se souviendra du rôle clé qu’elle aura joué dans la décision de la Cour suprême d’abolir les restrictions à l’avortement contenues dans le Code criminel du Canada en 1988.

More

Kathleen (Kit) Blake Coleman (1856-1915) Irlande

Première correspondante de guerre accréditée au monde, elle couvre la guerre hispano-américaine, et devient la première présidente du Canadian Women’s Press Club.

More

Thérèse Casgrain (1896-1981) Montréal (Québec)

Chef de la Ligue des droits de la femme de 1928 à 1942, elle devient la première femme canadienne à diriger un parti politique provincial en 1951. En 1979, en commémoration de l’affaire « personne », elle reçoit l’un des premiers Prix du Gouverneur général.

More

Gladys Grace May Strum (1906-2005) Saskatchewan

Élevée dans une région rurale de la Saskatchewan, elle devient la première femme présidente de la Fédération du commonwealth coopératif (CCF) et est élue première députée du parti en 1945. Plus tard, elle est élue au gouvernement provincial de la Saskatchewan.

More

Rosemary Brown (1930-2003) Jamaïque

Œuvrant pour la justice sociale, elle devient la première Canadienne noire élue à l’Assemblée législative de la Colombie-Britannique en 1972. En 1975, elle est la première femme à se présenter à la direction d’un parti politique canadien, arrivant deuxième derrière Ed Broadbent.

More

Agnes Campbell Macphail (1890-1954) Ontario

En 1921, lors de la première élection fédérale où les femmes ont droit de vote, elle est la première et seule femme élue au Parlement. Elle fondera la Société Elizabeth Fry du Canada, qui continue aujourd’hui de soutenir les femmes dans le besoin.

More

Roberta Bondar (1945- ) Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario

Chercheuse en neurologie, elle figure parmi les six premiers astronautes canadiens sélectionnés en 1984 pour s’entraîner à la NASA. En 1992, elle devient la première femme canadienne et la deuxième astronaute canadienne à aller dans l’espace. En 2009, elle crée une fondation à but non lucratif axée sur la protection de l’environnement.

More

Rosella Bjornson (1947- ) Lethbridge, Alberta

En 1973, elle est la première femme de l’Amérique du Nord à accéder au poste de première officière et la première femme à être embauchée par une compagnie aérienne commerciale au Canada. En 1990, elle devient la première femme à être promue capitaine pour un important transporteur aérien canadien.

More

Cairine Reay Wilson (1885-1962) Montréal (Québec)

En 1930, elle est la première femme à être nommée au Sénat du Canada par le premier ministre William Lion Mackenzie. Elle préférerait qu’on se souvienne du rôle actif qu’elle a joué au service des réfugiés et contre l’antisémitisme au Canada.

More

Nycole Turmel (1942- ) Sainte-Marie de Beauce, Quebec

En 2000, elle devient la première femme de l’histoire de l’Alliance de la Fonction publique du Canada à être élue présidente nationale. En tant que dirigeante, elle aide le syndicat à obtenir un règlement de 3 milliards de dollars du gouvernement fédéral, garantissant l’équité salariale pour les femmes dans la fonction publique. De 2011 à 2015, elle siège à titre de députée de Hull-Aylmer.

More

Emily Pauline Johnson (1861-1913) réserve des Six-Nations de Grand River, Canada

Elle est la première poète autochtone de renommée au Canada et la première ambassadrice culturelle d’origine autochtone. En 1961, elle devient la première femme à figurer sur un timbre de Postes Canada.

More

Hannah Moscovitch (1978- ) Ottawa, Ontario

Dramaturge canadienne, elle acquiert une renommée nationale dans les années 2000. Qualifiée de « sensation de la culture indienne » par le Toronto Life Magazine, elle est surtout connue pour ses pièces East of Berlin, The Russian Play et This Is War.

More

Nancy Greene Raine (1943- ) Ottawa, Ontario

En 1967, Nancy remporte la Coupe du monde en ski alpin. L’année suivante, elle remporte la première médaille d’or canadienne au slalom géant et la médaille d’argent au slalom, ainsi qu’une deuxième Coupe du monde. Lauréate de l’Ordre du Canada en 1967, elle est nommée Athlète de l’année en 1968.

More

Beverley McLachlin (1943- ) Pincher Creek (Alberta)

En 2000, elle devient la 17e juge en chef de la Cour suprême du Canada, la première femme à accéder à ce poste. Elle prend sa retraite de la magistrature en décembre 2017, ayant démontré une prise de position ferme sur la liberté d’expression et s’étant forgé une réputation d’indépendance d’esprit.

More

Flora Ann Campbell (1883-1961)

En 1913, elle devient la première femme policière engagée par le Service de police d’Ottawa. Elle n’est pas armée et ne porte ni uniforme ni insigne. Son rôle consiste à résoudre les conflits sans mettre le pied dans une salle d’audience, s’occupant des femmes accusées de crimes et des cas de négligence et d’abus envers les enfants.

More

Isobel Granger Zimbabwe

Elle est la première officière noire dans les rangs blancs de la force de police de son pays natal, le Zimbabwe. Elle est la première agente noire engagée par le Service de police d’Ottawa en 1994, et elle devient la première femme noire à être nommée au poste d’inspectrice en 2018.

More

Eleanor Milne (1925-2014) Saint John (Nouveau-Brunswick)

En 1961, elle devient la première femme à être nommée sculptrice du Dominion du Canada. Au cours des 31 années qui suivent, elle réalise plusieurs travaux sur la Colline du Parlement, y compris des sculptures sur le plafond de la Chambre des communes et des vitraux représentant les dix provinces et, à l’époque, les deux territoires du pays.

More

Donalda Charron (1886-1967) Gatineau (Québec)

Allumetière à la E.B. Eddy Company, elle devient présidente de l’Union ouvrière féminine de Hull. En 1924, elle dirige les employées dans une grève sauvage. Les travailleuses obtiennent une reconnaissance syndicale et réussissent à conserver le salaire et les heures de travail pour lesquels elles s’étaient battues en 1919, mais les conditions de travail ne s’améliorent pas.

More

Maureen « Mimi » Mitchell Donald (1917-2012) Saskatoon (Saskatchewan)

Sourde dès l’enfance, elle devient la première enseignante de l’école provinciale pour les enfants sourds de Jericho Hill à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique. Considérée comme la plus éminente enseignante auprès des sourds du Canada, elle collabore à la production du Canadian Dictionary of American Sign Language.

More

Pauline Jewett (1922-1992) St. Catharines (Ontario)

En 1974, elle est nommée présidente de l’Université Simon Fraser, devenant ainsi la première femme à diriger une grande université mixte au Canada, et en 1990, elle est nommée chancelière de l’Université Carleton à Ottawa. Elle est officier de l’Ordre du Canada.

More

Judy Cameron (1954- )

À l’âge de 24 ans, elle devient la première femme pilote d’Air Canada en 1978. En 1997, elle est promue commandante de bord et devient la première femme canadienne à piloter un Boeing 777 en 2010. Elle prend sa retraite en 2015, après 37 ans de carrière à Air Canada.

More

Grace Hartman (1918-1993) Toronto (Ontario)

En 1975, elle est élue présidente nationale du Syndicat canadien de la fonction publique (SCFP) et devient ainsi la première femme à occuper le plus haut poste au sein d’un syndicat canadien.

More

Leah Casselman Morewood, Ontario

In 1995, Casselman was the first woman president of the Ontario Public Service Employees Union (OPSEU), a position she held until 2007. In 1996, she led the union in the first strike with 60,000 members over contracting out issues.

More

Brigette Lacquette (1992 — ) Dauphin, Manitoba

Lacquette is the first First Nations woman on Canada’s Olympic hockey team. She first played with the National Women’s Team at the 2013 Four Nations Cup, helping Canada win the gold medal. She made her Olympic debut at PyeongChang 2018.

More

Bertha Wilson (1923 — 2007) Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom

Wilson was the first woman justice of the Supreme Court of Canada and had a strong influence on the application of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms. She is remembered for concurring in the Supreme Court decision overturning Criminal Code of Canada restrictions on abortion in 1988.

More

Kathleen (Kit) Blake Coleman (1856 –- 1915) Ireland

The world’s first accredited female war correspondent, Coleman covered the Spanish–American War, and was the first president of the Canadian Women’s Press Club.

More

Thérèse Casgrain (1896 — 1981) Montreal, Quebec

From 1928 – 1942 Casgrain led the League for Women’s Rights and became the first Canadian woman to lead a provincial political party in 1951. In 1979, to commemorate the Persons Case, Casgrain received one of the first Governor General’s Awards.

More

Gladys Grace May Strum (1906 — 2005) Saskatchewan

Raised in rural Saskatchewan, Strum was the first female president of the Co-operative Commonwealth Federation (C.C.F) and was elected as the party’s first female Member of Parliament in 1945. She was later elected to the Saskatchewan provincial parliament.

More

Rosemary Brown (1930 — 2003) Jamaica

Committed to justice for all, Brown was the first Black woman elected to the British Columbia legislature in 1972. In 1975, she was the first woman to run for the head of a Canadian political party, coming second to Ed Broadbent.

More

Agnes Campbell Macphail (1890 — 1954) Ontario

In 1921, the first federal election in which Canadian women could vote, Macphail was the first and only woman elected to parliament. She founded the Elizabeth Fry Society of Canada, which even today provides support to women in need.

More

Roberta Bondar (1945 — ) Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario

Bondar, a neurology researcher, was one of six Canadian astronauts selected in 1984 to train at NASA. In 1992, she became the first Canadian woman and the second Canadian astronaut to go into space. In 2009, she created a not-for-profit foundation centred on environmental awareness.

More

Rosella Bjornson (1947 — ) Lethbridge, Alberta

In 1973, Bjornson was the first woman to be hired by a commercial airline in Canada, making her the first female First Officer in North America. In 1990, she became the first woman promoted to Captain with a major Canadian air carrier.

More

Cairine Reay Wilson (1885 — 1962) Montreal, Quebec

In 1930 Prime Minister William Lyon Mackenzie appointed Wilson as Canada’s first female Senator. She preferred to be remembered for her work to serve refugees and speak out against anti-Semitism in Canada.

More

Nycole Turmel (1942 — ) Sainte-Marie de Beauce, Quebec

In 2000, Turmel became the first woman in PSAC’s history to be elected National President. She led the union in winning a $3-billion settlement against the federal government, securing pay equity on behalf of female civil servants. From 2011 – 2015 she represented Hull-Aylmer as a Member of Parliament.

More

Emily Pauline Johnson (1861 — 1913)

Six Nations of the Grand River, Canada
As Canada’s first renowned Aboriginal poet, Johnson was also the first indigenous cultural ambassador. In 1961, she became the first woman honored by Canada Post on a Canadian postage stamp.

More

Hannah Moscovitch (1978 — ) Ottawa, Ontario

A Canadian playwright. Moscovitch rose to national prominence in the 2000s and was dubbed “an indie sensation” by Toronto Life magazine. She is best known for her plays East of Berlin, The Russian Play, and This Is War.

More

Nancy Greene Raine (1943 — ) Ottawa, Ontario

Raine won the 1967 Alpine Ski World Cup. The next year she took home Canada’s first Olympic gold medal in the giant slalom and a silver medal in the slalom as well as her second World Cup.  She was awarded the Order of Canada in 1967 and named 1968 Athlete of the Year.

More

Beverly McLachlin

McLachlin became the first woman and 17th Chief Justice of the Canadian Supreme Court in 2000. She retired from the bench in December 2017, having taken a strong stand on free speech and established a reputation for independent thinking.

More

Flora Ann Campbell

Campbell was the first female officer ever hired by the Ottawa Police Service in 1913. Unarmed and not wearing a badge or uniform, Campbell’s role was to resolve conflicts without stepping into a courtroom. She focused on women charged with crimes and cases of child neglect and abuse.

More

Isobel Granger

Granger was the first Black officer on an all-white police force in her home country of Zimbabwe. In 1994, she became the Ottawa Police Service’s first Black female officer and was sworn in as Ottawa’s first Black woman inspector in 2018.

More

Eleanor Milne (1925 — 2014) Saint John, New Brunswick

In 1961, Milne was the first woman appointed Dominion Sculptor of Canada. Over the next 31 years, she completed numerous works on Parliament Hill, including carvings on the ceiling of the House of Commons and stained-glass windows depicting the country’s ten provinces and — at the time — two territories.

More

Donalda Charron (1886 — 1967) Gatineau, Quebec

While making matches for the E.B. Eddy Company, Charron became president of the Union ouvrière féminine de Hull. In 1924, she led employees in a wildcat strike. The workers won union recognition and maintained the pay and hours they had fought for in 1919, but working conditions were not improved.

More

Maureen “Mimi” Mitchell Donald (1917 — 2012) Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Deaf as a toddler, Donald was the first deaf teacher at the B.C. Provincial Jericho Hill School for the Deaf in Vancouver. Considered the most outstanding teacher of the Deaf in Canada,she was involved in the production of the Canadian Dictionary of American Sign Language.

More

Pauline Jewett (1922 — 1992) St Catharines, Ontario

Jewett was appointed president of Simon Fraser University in 1974, becoming the first woman to head a major co-educational university in Canada. She was appointed chancellor of Carleton University in Ottawa in 1990. She was also an Officer in the Order of Canada.

More

Judy Cameron (1954 — )

Aged 24, Cameron was hired as Air Canada’s first female pilot in 1978.. In 1997, she was promoted to captain and became the first Canadian woman to pilot a Boeing 777 in 2010. She retired in 2015, after a 37-year career with Air Canada.

More

Grace Hartman (1918 –1993) Toronto Ontario

In 1975, Hartman was the first woman to hold the top position in a Canadian Union when elected as the national president of the Canadian Union of Public Employees (CUPE).

More